“Flight” stays aloft, but doesn’t soar

How does this happen?

How it possible to have a movie that is well-directed, well written, well shot and well acted, but still fall short of expectations?

Robert Zemeckis’ return to live action somehow pulled this off.

Let me first be clear. I did not hate this movie. How could I?  The director who brought me ‘Back To The Future’, the writer of ‘Hardball’ and ‘Coach Carter’, and the star of ‘Crimson Tide’, ‘Training Day’, and ‘Remember the Titans’. How can these masters of drama not produce a good movie?

The problem is, it wasn’t great. As much as I love a good character driven drama., this whole film felt like a $30 million PSA on the adverse effects of alcoholism.

Now, Denzel sold this. He played the drunk pilot, Whip, really well.  I felt for his struggle.

Don Cheadle was solid as the man who held up the mirror for Denzel’s character. 

And Mr. John Goodman himself stole the show with his 2 scenes as Harling Mays, Whip’s drug dealing buddy. Goodman and Washington have a great on-screen chemistry and it shines through here.

Throw in the lovely Kelly Reilly as Nicole, Whip’s love interest, and you have a solid cast.

If I were to throw around ratings, I’d give this movie a solid 3 out 5 stars.

I was just hoping for more story. It’s all about the story.

Thus is my own problem. I love a character piece. But I love a heavy plot. Find me a plot-driven character piece. Impossible? Nah. Nothing is impossible..on film.

Cheers

Leave a Reply

